OCT 29

Crowdsourcing 101: Fundamentals and Case Studies

This webinar will explore crowdsourcing techniques used increasingly by organizations and institutions seeking to gather vast amounts of new knowledge and participation from online contributors.

This event has passed.

Crowdsourcing techniques are increasingly being utilized by organizations and institutions—including libraries and museums—seeking to gather vast amounts of new knowledge and participation from online contributors. In this fast-paced hour-long introduction, you'll get a handle on "Crowdsourcing Fundamentals" from leading voice in the field Mia Ridge, along with first-person accounts from two exemplar crowdsourcing projects (NYPL, Zooniverse). Learn the basics about implementing crowdsourcing techniques, securing funding, engaging users, and assessing the quality of crowdsourced data, as well as the advantages and challenges of utilizing crowdsourcing.

This webinar is part of the newly formed Crowdsourcing Consortium for Libraries and Archives (CCLA). Funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), the goal of CCLA is to forge national/international partnerships to advance the use of crowdsourcing technologies, tools, user experiences, and platforms to help libraries, museums, archives, and more.

Presented by: Mia Ridge, Chair of the Museums Computer Group at Open University and a member of the Executive Council of the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH); Ben Vershbow, Director of NYPL Digital Library + Labs; Victoria Van Hyning, Digital Humanities postdoc, Zooniverse

Start time: 12:00 Eastern / 9:00 Pacific  

Tweet: @crowdconsortium

Archive viewing options:

Related Resources:

Date

29 October 2014

Time

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM
Eastern Daylight Time, North America [UTC -4]

Venue

Webinar